Gold Sponsors

Wilmer Hale
Silver Sponsors

Wine Sponsor:


GABA Gala 2018 will honor outstanding German American business persons with the GABA Award of Excellence.

-> Become a Sponsor

GABA Award of Excellence

Konstantin Guericke
Co-Founder of LinkedIn

Konstantin Guericke Konstantin Guericke is a co-founder of LinkedIn, where he led the company's initial public launch to first six million members and profitability as Vice President of Marketing. For the past six years he has been serving as a board member of Doximity, the largest professional network for U.S. healthcare professionals, with more than 70% of physicians as members. Konstantin most recently was also a partner with Earlybird's fifth venture fund, which was $200 mil and based in Berlin. Previously, Konstantin has been the CEO of jaxtr, a social communications start-up with over ten million registered users, and he also served on the boards of Rallypoint and Whitepages. Konstantin enjoys mentoring student and European entrepreneurs over walks and holds a B.S. and M.S. in Engineering from Stanford University.

GABA Award History

The 2017 GABA Award winner were Prof. Dr.h.c. Hartmut Esslinger and Patricia Birgit Roller.

Hartmut Esslinger Hartmut Esslinger is Co-Founder and long-time CEO of global innovation firm frog design. He founded frog design at the age of 25, in 1969, in Germany and expanded the company to the United States in 1982. Together with his wife and business partner Patricia Roller he created the world's most prominent and successful strategic design agency. Hartmut also is a founding professor of the Hochschule fuer Gestaltung (College for Design) in Karlsruhe, Germany, was a professor for convergent industrial design at the University for Applied Arts in Vienna, Austria (2006 - 2011), and is a professor for strategic design and innovation at Fudan/SIVA University in Shanghai (since 2011).

 Patricia Roller Patricia Roller is a pioneer in the integration of design, technology and business. As former Co-CEO of frog design, a global design and strategy firm, she brought a creative and hands-on leadership style to managing major accounts, working with global companies such as Apple, HP, Motorola, Lufthansa, Disney's consumer electronics division and Siemens. She is currently the CEO of Vidlet, Inc., an innovative video management and mobile SaaS solution. Patricia speaks frequently on innovation, entrepreneurship and venture capital as a guest lecturer at UC Berkeley, Carnegie Mellon and Fudan/SIVA University in China.

Margit Wennmachers The 2016 GABA Award winner was Margit Wennmachers. She is a partner at Andreessen Horowitz (a16z), a preeminent Silicon Valley venture capital firm with investments in marquee companies such as Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter, Airbnb, and Quirky. An entrepreneur herself, in 1997, Margit cofounded the leading marketing and communications firm, The OutCast Agency. She has been in technology marketing for 20+ years, is a mentor, and serves on the board of the World Affairs Council.

Hasso Plattner The 2015 GABA Award winner was Prof. Dr. h.c. mult. Hasso Plattner. He is one of the founders of SAP and has been Chairman of the Supervisory Board since May 2003. In 1972 Hasso Plattner and four colleagues left IBM in order to found SAP (Systems, Applications, Products). From 1997 to May 2003 he was Chairman of the Executive Board and CEO of SAP. In May 2003 he was elected to the SAP Supervisory Board and took over the chairmanship from co-founder Dietmar Hopp.

Sebastian Thrun In 2014 our awardee was Sebastian Thrun, CEO of Udacity, a company with the mission to democratize higher education. Previously, he was a Google Fellow and the founder of Google X, and a Stanford professor of computer science and electrical engineering.

Andreas Bechtolsheim Gerhard Casper In 2013 we honored Andreas Bechtolsheim, Arista Networks, Inc with the GABA Award in Business and Gerhard Casper, President Emeritus of Stanford University Professor of Law, Emeritus; Peter and Helen Bing Professor in Undergraduate Education, Emeritus; Director and Senior Fellow at the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies (FSI Stanford) with the GABA Award in Education/Research.